Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

A Hatful of Medals at the County Champs – 24/25 May 2014

Peter Impett reports from King’s Park.

In probably the club’s best performance in the County Championships the 2014 haul amounted to 26 gold, 25 silver and 18 bronzes. That does not include second-claimer Nick Hunt who competes for us in the South West League.  Most marks were also personal bests. The red and black were everywhere and medals were won in every discipline except race walking. The most remarkable result came in the under-15 boys 800m, where Tom Bourne led Liam Murphy-Parry, Joe Kelliher and Matthew Yates for a clean sweep of the top four places. All of the pole vault medallists were Wimborne-trained. All three of the under-17 high jumpers have performed in Wimborne colours. Many of our medals came from first time competitors in a County Championships.

In the under-13 girls there were gold medals for Abbie Lovering in the 1500 metres in 5.28.6, Erin Thickett in the long jump with 4m32 and Martha Taylor in the javelin with 25m07. Silver medallists were Abbie Lovering in the 800 metres in 2.35.3 and Nia Burley with 19m07 in the discus. Beth-Kingswell Farr won a bronze in the 1500 metres in 15.39, Flo Lockwood was clocked at 12.4 in the hurdles and Martha Taylor recorded 4m03 in the long jump.

Under-13 silver-medallist Matty Effick threw 28.21 in the javelin and Rob Hughes was second in the hurdles with 14.8. There were bronze medals for Eddie May, 1m25 in the high jump and 12.06 in the discus, Ben Holland with 4m51 in the long jump and Tom Morrison with 4.58.4 in the 1500.

Three under-15 girls were double gold medallists. Pippa Hine won the 100 in 12.8 and the 200 in 26.9, Grace Copeland won the 800 in 2.19.8 and the 1500 in 4.48.5, and Becky Kent won the pole vault with a significantly improved 2m06 and the triple jump with 10m05. Bethan Burley chalked up silver medals in the shot with 10m88 and in the long jump with 4m85 and took bronze in the hurdles in 12.3.  Lucy Ballam was second to Grace in the 800 in 2.28.4, and Caitlyn Hooper took silver in the triple jump with 9m39.

Tom Bourne was a double gold medallist in the 800 with 2.11.7 and the 1500 with 4.31.7. Michael Johnson won the 3000 in 10.33.5 and was third in the 1500 in 4.58.4.  Liam Murphy-Parry was second in the 800 with 2.21.1. Nathan Hellier was also a silver medallist in the hurdles in 16.0 and took bronze in the discus 12.12.  Newcomer Curtis Ormerod-Taylor was third in the 200 metres 27.2. Joe Kelliher took the bronze medal in the 800 in 2.22.4 for the clean sweep. William Laing was second in the hammer with 13.73 and third in the hurdles with 16.4 and Alexander Long was the bronze medallist in the javelin with 17m49.

Ellie White won bronze in the under-17 women’s hammer and Jess May took bronze in the javelin with 18m95.

The under-17 men had a field day. Jason Sotheran ran away with the 800 in 2.06.3 and 1500 in 4.29.3 titles and this was echoed by Ryan Webb’s 1m95 in the high jump and 6m23 in the long jump. Ryan Long was a prolific gatherer of medals with perhaps the beating of arch-rival Jack Shepherd in the hurdles 14.1 the sweetest.  Ryan also picked up medals in the 200 with 24.1 for silver, javelin 38.00 silver, high jump 1m75 silver, discus 37.57 silver  and pole vault 3m20 gold. Louis Coppard won the 400 in 52.9 followed in by Jack Rees for silver 54.9.  Jack also gained bronze in the 100 in 11.6.  Liam Winton went home with three medals – a silver in the long jump with 5m23, a gold in the triple for 10m76 and a bronze 7m51 in the shot.  Fraser Hoare was second in the shot 9m82, Joe Miles took bronze in the high jump 1m65 and Sam Davies was second in the steeplechase 5.43.3.  Piers Copeland was second in a very competitive 3000 in 9.55.7.

Under-20 events saw Ryan Walbridge win the 1500 in 4.17.9, Sharon Hutchings  win the 5000 in 19.45.1 and Charlotte Bourne win the 1500 in 5.51.7.  Matt Curtis was second in the pole vault 3m60.

In the masters’ categories, Paula Hine was third in the 200 metres in 31.1 and took second place in the seniors’ long jump 3m99, Sarah Orr won the 1500 in 5.27.9, Mark Copeland won the 800 in 2.16.7 and was second in the 1500 in 4.46.7 and Dave Pearson won the seniors’ pole vault with 3m40.

Altogether, it was a most satisfying couple of days. Athletes and coaches can feel proud of what was achieved.   We must, however, recognise the efforts of the officials and particularly of Richard Nunn who spends a huge amount of time and effort putting this event on.

Well done everybody.


Click here for full results for the meeting

Web Design by