Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

WAC Presentation Evening 26 November 2016

Wimborne Athletic Club held their 2016 Presentation Evening at the Wimborne Town Football Club on Saturday evening, 26th November.  Retiring Chairman Peter Impett praised the work of coaches, officials and volunteers which had seen the club rise to third place in the South West Athletics League, had produced a record crop of athletes at the English Schools event, promoted two major road races and brought home trophies in regional cross country events.

Club members created at least nineteen new club records during the season.  These were reflected in the award for the best single male performance of the season won by Ryan Webb who high jumped 2m14 in a South West League meeting as well as taking a silver medal in the English Schools Championships.  The ladies equivalent trophy was won by Ellie White for sixth place in the Hammer at the English Schools.  Ryan and Ellie won the high jump and female Throws award respectively.

The age group trophies were won at under 11 level by Kitty Sharpe and Fraser Adams, the under 13s by Charlotte Piper and Ben Butcher, the under 15s by Abbie Lovering and Rob Hughes, the under 17s by Bethan Burley and Michael Johnson and the Seniors by Hannah Winton and Dave Pearson.

Event trophies were claimed by Piers and Grace Copeland in the Middle Distance events and Pippa Hine in the Sprints.  Bethan Burley was nominated for several trophies and these were wrapped up by taking the Multi Events trophy.  Charlotte Ayton retained the long jump trophy and Caitlyn Hooper the Jonathon Edwards Triple Jump trophy.  Rob Hughes was recognised for his hurdling and Zach Fenwick took the male Throws award.  Finn Peterson won the Pole Vault award.

Club based trophies listed Harry O Donoghue as the best newcomer and incoming chairman Jason Hall won the trophy for all round support.  Abbie Lovering and Amy Mercer jointly won the Clare Bailey trophy in recognition of their willingness and skill in tackling a whole range of events from cross country to pole vault.  These two among a number of others won the Under 15 team trophy in bringing home the South West Team Cross Country title and placing third in the Southern event.  Paula Hine was adjudged Coach of the Year reflecting her recognition in that role as South West Coach of the Year.  The prestigious Les Phillips Trophy for a major contribution to the life of the club was won by Steve Wyatt for his leadership in the organisation of the Wimborne 10 and 20 road races.  A small presentation was made to retiring Chairman Peter Impett marking some twenty years in the post.



Web Design by