Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

Wimborne AC – Awards Night 29 November 2008

Wimborne AC’s committee sprung a surprise on Chairman Peter Impett in front of 100 members and friends by awarding him the prestigious Les Phillips Trophy at the club’s Presentation Evening at the Allendale Centre on Saturday 28th November. Committee member Glyn Davies listed all the ‘Cs’ in a citation for service to the club over more than 20 years, ‘Coach’, ‘Coach Driver’, ‘Chairman’, ‘Competitor’, ‘Competition Organiser’, ‘Commentator’ and more or less any job that needed doing in the club.

Earlier Peter had used ‘People Make Clubs’ for his theme for the clubs year. Achieving Clubmark status had taken a lot of hard work by Glyn Davies and Richard Nunn. The increase in numbers attending the club was a key feature in no small part down to the excellent work done by Trudi Carter and her team at Impact Athletics. On the roads the numbers running had also increased. The recent Wimborne 10 saw the club not only involved in the racing but turning out 65 members and friends to help Race Organiser Jerry Shield on the day. The club had made a significant contribution to the success of Team Dorset in gaining a second straight promotion to the top regional level of the UK Young Athletes league with partner clubs Poole AC and Dorchester AC. Tribute was paid to all the coaches, officials and committee members who give up so much of their time to help.

Hannah Winton led the parade of trophy winners. Hannah is at the top of the tree in the UK for triple jump in the under-15 age group and took away not only the Jonathan Edwards Trophy for that event but also the Carol Hollins Trophy for long jump and the under-15 girls trophy. Kyle Wilson’s performance at the English Schools won him the male best performance award and the Under-15 boys trophy. Roz Hutton had had a difficult season because of injury but a world age group record and a European Championship in a number of hammer events gave her the female outstanding performance award and the female thrower of the year trophy.

Other age group awards went to Shae Hardy and Chris Coomes in the under-11s, to Rachel Welch and Matthew Curtis in the under-13s, Maddy Vaughan-Johncey and Ben Amey in the under-17s and Steve Snook and Trudi Carter in the seniors. Matthew also won the Hurdles Trophy and Ben the Sprints Trophy.

Alfie Beddow stepped up proudly to accept his Best Junior Award followed by Abi Card and Sharon Hutchings as the Best Newcomers. Ellis Marples retained the High Jump Trophy and Alex Vaughan-Johncey took the middle distance prize.

TC Hardy won the clubman’s Robin Blackburn Trophy and Sam Neill won the Clare Bailey Trophy for endeavour. The Hill Ford Trophy was awarded to the 100km Ridgeway Relays squad for an excellent result – five Wimborne teams including first and second places and a PB from the ladies’ team. Steve Snook was voted Coach of the Year.

Road Running trophies were awarded to Jerry Shield and Wendy Kennedy for best male and female over the 12-race season in the Dorset Road Race League. Pete Lemon was best marathon man for wildly exceeding best estimates for his time in the London Marathon and Claire Newby won the Road Master trophy for running every Road league race and in competing in the Cross-Country league too (15 races in all).

The evening organised by Clare Gladden and Roz Hutton, was rounded off by club member Ian Kennedy’s ‘Night Train’ disco.

Award Winners 2008

Best Newcomer                                                  Abi Card & Sharon Hutchings
Best Junior                                                          Alfie Beddow
Under-11 Boy’s Trophy                                      Chris Coomes
Under-11 Girl’s Trophy                                       Shae Hardy
Under-13 Boy’s Trophy                                      Matthew Curtis
Under-13 Girl’s Trophy                                       Rachel Welch
Under-15 Boy’s Trophy                                      Kyle Wilson
Under-15 Girl’s Trophy                                       Hannah Winton
Under-17 Men’s Trophy                                      Ben Amey
Under-17 Women’s Trophy                                Maddy Vaughan-Johncey
Senior Man’s Trophy                                          Steve Snook
Senior Woman’s Trophy                                    Trudi Carter

High Jump Cup                                                   Ellis Marples
Hurdles Trophy                                                    Matthew Curtis
Carol Hollins Long Jump Trophy                       Hannah Winton
Middle Distance Cup                                          Alex Vaughan-Johncey
Sprints Trophy                                                     Ben Amey
Female Thrower’s Trophy                                  Roz Hutton
Jonathan Edwards Triple Jump Trophy            Hannah Winton

Marathon Runner                                                 Pete Lemon
Male Roadrunner                                                Jerry Shield
Female Roadrunner                                            Wendy Kennedy
Roadmaster                                                         Claire Newby

Male Performance of the Year                           Kyle Wilson
Female Performance of the Year                      Roz Hutton

Clare Bailey Trophy                                            Sam Neill
Robin Blackburn Trophy                                     Letitia ‘TC’ Hardy
Les Phillips Trophy                                             Peter Impett

Coach of the Year                                               Steve Snook
Team of the Year                                                 100k Wessex Ridgeway Teams

Web Design by