Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

Wimborne AC Track & Field Presentation Evening 2018

Wimborne Athletic Club members packed the Colehill Sports and Social Club on Saturday evening for their annual Track and Field Presentation Evening. Chairman Jason Hall began by celebrating all the club records that had been broken in 2018. A string of superb individual performances had led to the establishment of 20 new records in the year. The club were second to Taunton in the South West League having won the title the previous year, but won the Under 17 men and relay trophies.

Piers and Grace Copeland won male and female best performances of the year trophies, Piers for qualifying for the British Athletics Menís 1500 metres Final and Grace for a podium finish at the English Schools Championships in the 3000 metres.They also took the middle distance trophies. 

The age group trophies were won at under 11 level by Tess Pawley and Woody Van der Feltz, the under 13s by Ella Dalton and Jakob Roberts, the under 15s by Lauren Hill and Joe Goodwin, the under 17s by Abbie Lovering and Kane Aubrey, the under 20s by Pippa Hine and Curtis Ormerod Taylor and the seniors by Hannah Winton and Ronnie de Bique.

Curtis Ormerod Taylor set new club records in the 100 and 200 and won the male sprint award.  Curtis has now been invited to a national training camp for the skeleton following other sprinters into the winter sports set up.  Abbie Lovering, who moved from middle distance to long sprints and hurdles in the year and only just missed out on the hurdles final at the English Schools, took the trophy in both categories.  Rob Hughes took the multi events trophy.   Charlotte Ayton retained the long jump trophy and Ben Butcher won the Jonathon Edwards Triple Jump Trophy. Joe Goodwin and Abbie White took the male and female throws awards. Finn Peterson won the pole vault award and Jakob Roberts the high jump cup.

The team trophy was won by the under 13 boys relay team of Harry Woods, Harry Bunting, Tristan Green and Ollie Foster who broke the club record twice in two weeks. Catherine Rawles won the trophy for the support role. Best newcomer trophies were shared by Akiva Bassford and Lauren Hill. Isabella Cox won the Clare Bailey Trophy in recognition of her willingness to try any event. Steve Snook was adjudged Coach of the Year having built up a dedicated group of sprinters.  The prestigious Les Phillips Trophy for a major contribution to the life of the club was won by Nick Solomon.




Web Design by