Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

Wimborne Athletic Club Presentation Evening  – 7 December

Peter Impett reports.

Three of WAC’s stars of 2012 – Grace Copeland, Bethan Burley and Pippa Hine

The growth in membership at Wimborne Athletic Club this year has been such that the clubs annual awards evening had to be split in to two. On Friday the track and field section had their presentation evening with the roadrunners event still to come in a week’s time.

In his opening remarks Chairman Peter Impett highlighted the work of the volunteer coaches, officials and administrators and estimated that they were giving at least 3,500 hours per year to the community. Notable milestones in the year included having four members carrying the Olympic torch, success at Sports:Hall, in cross-country and in roadrunning, and the start of regular sessions at the Blandford Camp track. The Olympics effect had brought a sharp increase in the number attending sessions particularly in the under-11s age group. The most significant achievement during the year was winning the Division 2 title in the South West League and the consequent promotion to Division 1 for 2013.

The club had recently successfully completed its accreditation under the Clubmark scheme and the chairman was able to present Glyn Davies, who had carried out much of the work, with the framed citation.

The under-11 age group trophies were won by Abbie White and Tom Morrison, the under-13s were won by Tom Stokes and by Bethan Burley who also won the Wimborne Engraving female throws trophy. Kelly Snook and Liam Winton won the under-15s trophy with Liam also taking the Wimborne Engraving male throws trophy.  Sharon Hutchings was the highest points scorer among the under-17 women as well as taking the female middle distance trophy.  Best under-17 man was Christian Flavell. Trudi Carter and Paul Flavell won the senior trophies.

Trophies for the single outstanding performances of the year went to Matt Curtis for his English Schools hurdles and to Grace Copeland for the 800 metres. Ryan Webb won the Best Newcomer Award and the High Jump Cup with a new under-15 club record of 1m76.  Pippa Hine won the Carole Hollins long jump and the sprints cups, Ronnie De Bique won the Hurdles Cup and Ryan Walbridge the Middle Distance Male Cup.  Ryan Long took the pole vault trophy, Bethan Burley, the trophy for javelin and the multi-events trophy was shared by Paul Flavell and Matt Curtis. Hannah Winton retained the Jonathan Edwards triple jump trophy. The Hill Ford best team prize was won by the under-13 girls relay team beaten only once all season.

The back room boys were also rewarded.  Glyn Davies and Graham Beddow shared the Robin Blackburn trophy for their volunteering work, Peter Impett won the Clare Bailey trophy, Ian Kennedy won coach of the year and Ed Arnold won the Les Phillips trophy for his major contribution to the life of the club.

The evening then continued with a disco provided by the clubs very own disc jockey Ian ‘Night Train’ Kennedy.

Wimborne track and field athletes – Gangnam style!

 Peter Impett

Web Design by