Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field

WAC Track & Field Awards Night – 6 December 2013

Reporting from the Cuthbury on our trophy winners.

Chairman Peter Impett urged the club to look to the future at its awards evening for track and field at Wimborne Town Football Club. The club, and its individual athletes, have achieved great things during 2013. Grace Copeland’s performances and national rankings over 800m (UK No. 5) and 1500m (UK No. 2) have received local and national press coverage and her success was mirrored when she was awarded the Female Best Performance Trophy, the Female Middle Distance Award and the Girls’ Under-13 Trophy. ‘Best Performance by a Male’ was from Ryan Long for his appearance in the English Schools hurdles finals. He also won the Under-15 Boys Trophy and the Hurdles Trophy.

The future looks bright! Abbie, Derry and Erin – under-11 medal winners

Important to the future of the club are the under-11 athletes and the excellent work done by Paula Hine and her team of coaches. Erin Thickett was presented with her medal for breaking the Wessex League Under-11 75 metres record. Abbie Lovering won the Under-11 Girls’ Trophy and Derry Sowinski-Brown won the Boys’ Trophy. Elliott Symes won the Under-13 boys’ title and Bethan Burley took home the Under-15 Girls’ award, the Female Throws Trophy and a share of the Multi-Events Trophy.  Matt Curtis took the other half of the Multi-Events Trophy and also took the Male Throws Trophy.

Abbie Hine won the Under-17 Girls’ Trophy, and High Jump Trophy winner Ryan Webb also won the Under-17 men’s title. Trudi Carter and Dave Pearson won the senior awards. Other event trophies were won by Charlotte Ayton for long jump, Caitlyn Hooper won the triple jump and Pippa Hine the sprints award. Callum Kennedy won the Male Middle Distance Trophy and Jack Snook the trophy for pole vault.

The Under-15 girls won the Team Award for their win in the South West League.  Charlotte Bourne was honoured with the Robin Blackburn Trophy, Louis Coppard was the Best Newcomer and Alexander Long won the Clare Bailey Trophy for effort and commitment. Paula Hine won ‘Coach of the Year’ and the prestigious Les Phillips Trophy was won by the May family for their all-round support for the club.

For the first time, medals were awarded to those who set a club record during the summer which remained intact at season’s end. It was extraordinary that in a club that was established almost 30 years ago that so many track & field records were sent tumbling in a single season. Our club record holding medallists were: Erin Thickett u11g 75m, Grace Copeland u13g 800m, 1200m and u13 & Female 1500m, Ellie White u15g hammer, Pippa Hine u15g 300m, Piers Copeland u15b 3000m, Abbie Hine u17w 1500m & 1500m steeplechase, Jason Sotheran U17m 1500m, Ryan Walbridge u17m 3000m, Callum Kennedy u20 & Male 5000m and Jack Snook u20 & male pole vault.

Award Winners 2013

Wessex League Award

Under-11s League Record – 75m                      Erin Thickett

Wimborne AC Awards

Under-11 Girls’ Trophy                                         Abbie Lovering
Under-11 Boys’ Trophy                                         Derry Sowinski-Brown
Under-13 Girls’ Trophy                                         Grace Copeland
Under-13 Boys’ Trophy                                         Elliott Symes
Under-15 Girls’ Trophy                                         Bethan Burley
Under-15 Boys’ Trophy                                         Ryan Long
Under-17 Girls’ Trophy                                         Abbie Hine
Under-17 Boys’ Trophy                                         Ryan Webb
Under-20/Senior Women’s Trophy                     Trudi Carter
Under-20/Senior Men’s Trophy                           Dave Pearson 

Best Newcomer                                                     Louis Coppard
High Jump Cup                                                      Ryan Webb
Hurdles Trophy                                                       Ryan Long
Carol Hollins Long Jump Trophy                         Charlotte Ayton
Jonathan Edwards Triple Jump Trophy              Caitlyn Hooper
Sprints Trophy                                                       Pippa Hine
Middle Distance Female Trophy                         Grace Copeland
Middle Distance Male Trophy                              Callum Kennedy
Pole Vault Trophy                                                  Jack Snook
Female Thrower’s Trophy                                    Bethan Burley
Male Thrower’s Trophy                                         Matt Curtis
Multi-Events Trophy                                              Bethan Burley & Matt Curtis (joint)

Female Performance of the Year                        Grace Copeland
Male Performance of the Year                             Ryan Long

Team of the Year                                                   Under-15 Girls’ Track & Field Team
Coach of the Year                                                 Paula Hine

Clare Bailey Trophy                                              Alexander Long
Robin Blackburn Trophy                                       Charlotte Bourne
Les Phillips Trophy                                                The May Family


Web Design by