Wimborne Athletic Club

Home                Club Info                Cross Country                Road Running                Sportshall                Track & Field


A good night was had at the Wimborne AC Cross-Country Awards night. Thirty of us enjoyed skittles at Wimborne Town FC clubhouse, with Keith Collins, Adam’s dad, coming out on top.

Our Top Male Runner award went to ‘Mr Consistent’ Graham Whiffen who has led the line for our Senior Men’s team in recent years. Top Female Runner went this year to Jill Harsent. Jill has been such a vital cog in WAC’s XC wheel. Her best form has come in championship year.  Well done to all of our Ladies team who became Wessex League Champions after the final race of the season. The best individual performance from the ladies came from Lynda Faulkner when she finished 3rd in Race 1. But the team prize was won because of the hard work and commitment put in over the season from the backbone of the team: Jill Harsent, Julie Mead (both of whom competed 5 times) and Nicki Roe (who raced 4 times). These three received excellent support from Lynda, Claire Newby, Kim Jolliffe, Wendy Trueman, Annemarie Fachiri and Veronica Harvey. Apart from the team awards Julie finished first F40 for the season and Jill third F45.

The Senior men’s ‘A’ team finished 4th in the league, and we won another trophy when our ‘B’ team took what is effectively the Division 2 title. Our top two runners over the season for the men were Graham Whiffen and Daryl Davies.  Ian Cardy who only ran in the first two races won both times out. There was an excellent supporting cast of committed XCers particularly Phil Burgess and Steve Snook.

For our juniors Maddy Vaughan-Johncey (u17) and Laura Harvey (u15), Callum Kennedy, Jack Snook, Alexandra Vaughan-Johncey (u13) were regular performers. There were also appearances from Kirsty Harvey (u17), Lauren Hutton (u15) and Kelly Snook (u11). With two races to go Adam Collins (u11) entered the fray and won on his debut and in the last race of the season Tom Broderick (u13) ran a very good race – an encouraging end to the season.

Our Most Improved Runner Award went to Daryl Davies who has seen a dramatic improvement in form which has put him in the frame for selection for the Senior Men’s county team. Daryl was also the only runner to win a Fidelity Award – for competing in every XC League race over the Winter. Well done, Daryl.

The Jean Frost Trophy is awarded to someone who makes a significant contribution to WAC’s cross-country team. This year it was awarded to Veronica Harvey. Veronica is one of our Level One coaches, she has been a regular at Saturday morning training sessions over a number of years where she is a valued member of the team. Veronica is not a regular competitor, but we needed her to race at Ham Hill to keep our Ladies Championship bid alive, on what turned out to be the toughest course we have run on in recent years. She rose superbly to the occasion. Thank you Veronica for all your hard work and commitment.

Web Design by